Conococheague Institute, Museum & Library is located on the 30-acre historic Rock Hill Farm in southwest Franklin County. The Institute seeks to foster awareness, understanding and stewardship of the cultural and natural history of the West Conococheague region through education, interpretation, research and preservation. It operates a research/genealogy library as well as a colonial farm museum consisting of several historic log structures including the Davis-Chambers House (1752), the Martin-Negley House (1810), the Welsh Barrens Visitor Center, the Piper Log Cabin, and a newly-restored summer kitchen. Visitors can also enjoy indoor and outdoor exhibits as well as picnic facilities and walking trails through the woods. A short walk from the main building will take you to an early settler cemetery, a boat house, wetlands and our German 4-square garden.
Tours of the building are available by appointment for local public and private schools, church groups, scouts, historical societies and garden clubs. The grounds are open to the public from dawn to dusk every day.
- Hours: Building tours available by appointment; grounds open from dawn to dusk
- Months Open: Year-round; closed on Memorial Day, July 4, Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day
- Parking: Parking Lot
- Wireless Internet:
- Tours Available:
- Dates: September 7, 2019 - September 8, 2019
- Recurrence: Recurring daily
- Times: Saturday 9:00 AM to 8:00 PM; Sunday 11:00 AM to 4:00 PM
- Location: Conococheague Institute