The Mechanicsburg Museum preserves four 1800s buildings from the Cumberland Valley Railroad, a log tavern that predates Mechanicsburg, and a collection of items and records important to Mechanicsburg's history and heritage. The association preserves the 1899 Washington Street Station, the 1866 Stationmaster's House, the 1886 Freight Station, the 1867 Passenger Station, and the 1801 Frankenberger Tavern. The museum headquarters is the 1867 Passenger Station. Admission to normal exhibits is free. After visiting the sites, please visit the museum store in the Freight Station for books, toys, mugs and more.
Groups tours are available with advance notice.
Click the links below for more information about these unique sites:
Historic Marker: An on-site marker for the Cumberland Valley Railroad reads "Incorporated in 1831. Completed, Lemoyne to Chambersburg, 1837; eventually, Harrisburg to Virginia. For over 80 years, vital to Valley's economic life; merged into Pennsylvania R.R., 1919. Passenger Station, Stationmaster's House here, built in the 1860's."
MonClosedTueClosedWed12:00pm - 3:00pm
Thu12:00pm - 3:00pm
Fri12:00pm - 3:00pm
Sat12:00pm - 3:00pm
- Directions: Parking lot entrance is on North Market Street, between Main Street and Allen Street
- Gift Shop:
- Hours: Wed-Sat 12pm-3pm
- Months Open: 12 except tavern May - September
- Notes: Payment by cash or check only. No credit cards.
- Parking: yes
- Handicapped Accessible:
- Tours Available:
- All Ages:
- Made in Cumberland Valley:
- Made in the Valley Products: Painted roof states from our old high school, prints of Eva Williams paintings, local history books and items
- Group Reservations Required:
- Maximum # of People for Tour: 50
- Motorcoach Parking:
- Price Range: free - contributions welcome
- Tour Length: 1/2 - 2 hours
Type of Experience
- Tours Available: